Avignon

    Place des Carmes

    Category: Tag:

    Address

    Town

    Avignon

    Postal code

    84000

    Map


    Description

    The Place des Carmes – literally the ‘Square of the Carmelites’ – is the old cemetery of the Carmelite convent. Until the mid-20th century it was the site of a covered market, and the square still bustles with a traditional flea market on Sunday mornings. The Place des Carmes is a pretty square in the old centre of Avignon, lined with huge plane trees and dominated by the iconic Grands Augustins bell tower. The Augustinian convent stood on this spot before being destroyed during the French Revolution. People gather here to chat in the shade in the heat of summer. The Carmelite cloister, which is situated next to the church, was one of the convents built in Avignon during the 13th century. It was renovated and adorned during the pontificates of John XII and Clement VI. Following a restoration in the early 20th century, it is now one of the venues for the Festival of Avignon. The Carmelite church boasts the largest nave and the only intact cloister. St Symphorien, built in 1267, is the cloister’s church. It was consecrated on April 10, 1520. It became the venue for public meetings during the Revolution and then the seat of the Jacobins of Avignon. In 1803 it was awarded the parish title of St Symphorien. Numerous works of art are on display here: not just sculptures and paintings but also a gilded wooden altar. The Place des Carmes – literally the ‘Square of the Carmelites’ – is the old cemetery of the Carmelite convent. Until the mid-20th century it was the site of a covered market, and the square still bustles with a traditional flea market on Sunday mornings. The Place des Carmes is a pretty square in the old centre of Avignon, lined with huge plane trees and dominated by the iconic Grands Augustins bell tower. The Augustinian convent stood on this spot before being destroyed during the French Revolution. People gather here to chat in the shade in the heat of summer. The Carmelite cloister, which is situated next to the church, was one of the convents built in Avignon during the 13th century. It was renovated and adorned during the pontificates of John XII and Clement VI. Following a restoration in the early 20th century, it is now one of the venues for the Festival of Avignon. The Carmelite church boasts the largest nave and the only intact cloister. St Symphorien, built in 1267, is the cloister’s church. It was consecrated on April 10, 1520. It became the venue for public meetings during the Revolution and then the seat of the Jacobins of Avignon. In 1803 it was awarded the parish title of St Symphorien. Numerous works of art are on display here: not just sculptures and paintings but also a gilded wooden altar.


    Practical Information

    Price conditions

    free

    Reviews (0)

    Reviews


    There are no reviews yet.

    Be the first to review “Place des Carmes”